Happy #Hacktoberfest!

For the third year in a row, Hacktoberfest is back! Hacktoberfest is a celebration of open source software encouraging everyone to contribute. The exciting part is if you make 4 Pull Requests to ANY Open Source project on Github in the month of October, you get an awesome shirt!

(This is last year’s shirt, they’re different each year)

Last year’s Hacktoberfest was the first time I actually did PRs to OS projects (other than my own small projects) so I have a special fondness for it. Those PRs were eventually merged, even though one took about 10 months to get merged in! But it’s okay if yours don’t get merged, you just have to try! Any PRs count, including documentation, tests, whatever – So it’s a great way to get started. And this year, projects are tagging issues with a hacktoberfest label so you can easily find open issues in your language of choice to work on!

This year, I managed to get my four PRs done within the first four days – which inspired me to try to go for 31 (since October has 31 days). I’ll be focusing a lot on unit tests and testing related PRs, but also some generic bug fixing as well – and I’ll be posting about them here, so hopefully other people who aren’t already contributing to OSS can see how easy and fun it can be to make a small difference.

Follow along with me here on the blog, or check out my profile for October to see all of them at once! There’s also a neat tool that checks your progress for you, so here’s mine, and you can enter your username to track your own progress!

If you have a PHP project that needs tests or just have a bug you need help with, feel free to message me and I’ll take a look, or just tag it with the hacktoberfest label and encourage people to work on it this month!

Leave a Reply

